27'' 1080p vs 25'' 1440p

CubriC

Commendable
Jul 19, 2016
Hello Dear community, I was surprised that this will be my first thread even though I've been "here" for a few years now. :pt1cable:

I have an old Samsung Mastersync 2032BW monitor:
It's a 20 inch 1680x1050 at 60 Hz (Aspect Ratio 16:10) and even though it's still in perfect conditions I think it's about time to upgrade.
And from the specs any new monitor would be quite the upgrade :D

So I almost feel into the error of purchasing a TN (Twisted Nematic) monitor like the AOC G2770PQU.
...I lie. I actually ordered it but then they called me saying it was discontinued from production and wanted to give me other alternatives over the phone. Good thing I asked them to send me an email so I could research more. That's when I learned about the different LCD displays (TN, IPS and VA).

I kept doing my research for decent monitors and I eliminated them by comparing each specs and I got down/stuck to two. I can't decide even though they aren't that similar. I'll show you below and hopefully you people could provide me some feedback that'll help me choose.

Samsung LC27F591FDU Curved 27 Inch
71%2BtRWq7JqL._SL1000_.jpg

Resolution
1920x1080

Screen Mode
FHD

Panel Type
VA

Brightness
250 cd/m²

Contrast Ratio Static
3000:1

Viewing Angle (Horizontal/Vertical)
178°/178°

Resolution
2560 x 1440

Screen Mode
WQHD

Panel Type
IPS

Brightness
350 Nit

Contrast Ratio
100,000,000:1

I didn't include some of the specs since they are the same like the aspect ratio and response time. Also the price is pretty much the same. Amazon.es has them at 333€ and 316€ respectively.
The type of usage I'll give it's diverse as I like to mess around with Photoshop, Illustrator and some occasional video editing, playing games (PC gaming masterrace).