4 pin PWM y splitter with different fans and pin layouts

tibbee1996

Commendable
Jul 25, 2016
I'm looking for an explanation, and theory that how a 4 pin PWM Y splitter would work with
different
type of fans with different pin layouts in a 4pin connector on the motherboard.

The splitter has two end one with 4 pin and another with 3pin. I know that one of them is only 3 pin, because the splitter need to know only one fan speed , and controll both fan based on that.

But, how you controll a 4 pin and a 3 pin fan?
Because the 4 pin connects perfectly (gets 4pin from splitter),
but the 3 pin fan only gets 2 pin from the other head of the splitter.

Will the 2 fan stay on the same level of rpm, or differ in some level?
Does two different brand cause conflict?

I also interested in two 3pin fan with a 4pin splitter.

Please do not answer if it works or not, rather how will it work.
I am not an expert in thic topic, but rather curios about how fans will behave.

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador
3-wire fans have their speed controlled by varying the voltage; usually from +5V to +12V. As a result, LED lights on those fans will dim and brighten as the fan speed increases/decreases.

4-wire (PWM: Pulse Width Modulation) fans have their speed controlled by varying the length of time the DC voltage is applied (the pulse), maintaining a constant +12V. LED lights on those fans will stay bright when the fan speed increases/decreases.

The missing pin on some 4-wire splitter is the tach wire. The BIOS needs to see only one tach signal so that it isn't confused with competing signals. As a result, it is best to use matching fans on a spliter so you can assume the 2nd fan is running at the same RPM as the first. Using mis-matched fans will cause no harm, but you will not have any idea of the actual RPM of the 2nd fan.