Need advice with scientific computing workstation

therickaman

Commendable
Jul 28, 2016
Hello All,

To begin, let me first say that I am an absolute beginner at building computers. I'd like to build (or buy) a computer that is extremely fast for arbitrary precision mathematics with perhaps thousands of digits. This would essentially be the only use for this computer. My budget for this computer would be at most 400 dollars. I know that may sound terribly low, but it seems to me that it is possible to build a high quality computer given my needs.

For my needs, I'd like to build a linux server which I can use ssh to program on the machine. Honestly, graphics is not essential for me since I'd probably only use the terminal. It would be nice to perhaps have the ability to plug a monitor into the computer for initial setup or maintenance, but even then I'd only need a terminal. One day (after I graduate) it would be nice to have the ability to upgrade the graphics so that I can use HDMI out to a TV, so that I could watch videos on the TV using the computer...but that is not essential for the time being. The same holds for sound.

I'd like to be able to run this computer 24/7 from home but be able to ssh into the computer from any where online. I'd like to have a hard drive of at least 500 Gigs or more, to store pictures, video, or music from other computers (but not view/use them). The ability to upload files to this machine quickly through an ftp connection is essential. I should note that I would only use a wired ethernet connection.