Best Gaming PC around $500 to $600

MrNault

Commendable
Aug 3, 2016
Hello, I'm looking to build my first gaming pc. Now I'm NOT a newbie when it comes to working on computers, hardware and software wise. But I just want some opinions about the system I want to build. So I wanted a system around $500 to $600. I'm not worried about the "prettiness" of the system, but it is a plus if the colors of the components matched. I'm also not a fanboy of any brand, so it doesn't matter there. I have done some research and I have made a PC parts list. I'm open to constructed criticism to my list or if you make a new one. Thanks and I'm excited for responses.

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/MX8gJV

Woohoopy

Honorable
Jun 8, 2013
Looks great, here's a few tips.

1). You might need a networking card (~$15-$20) if you plan to use wifi, and a higher end one if you plan on using bluetooth (most people don't but you know). Here's one.

2). Triple check you get a black edition FX 6300 CPU so you can overclock. You'll be very pleased with its overclocking potential especially for how much it costs.

3). I know for a fact you can get a used GTX 970 for the same price of that new R9 380, which, on average in most games, the 970 is ~35% faster. The 970s are running for about ~$175 on ebay. Something worth considering if you want the "most bang for your buck", especially with all the great software like shadowplay on the Nvidia side. This one sold this morning.

I think you've done a great job and this system will be able to run a ton of stuff. Nice job and good luck.

Edit: Get an Rx 480 before buying an R9 380. Once again, 34% performance boosts brand new.

MrNault

Commendable
Aug 3, 2016

wow, I can't believed you replied this quick. thanks!
1. So I didn't think about a network card, but I have a wired connection. Do you think a network card would be faster than the onboard Ethernet connector?