Switching from Console to High end PC, build review

Jordan_FCBayern

Reputable
Mar 3, 2016
As the title says I am switching from console to PC later this year. I am fortunate enough to be able to spend a fair amount so I want to build a system that can handle 4k without much problem (thinking 1080 GPU). I'm expecting VR to grow rapidly so I'd love this rig to be VR ready but if not, I want to be able to drop in a second GPU and be there. I can spend whatever I deem reasonable but I'd love to cut costs wherever I can so if there's cheaper solutions I'm all ears, and if you recommend something more expensive please provide a justification. This will sit in my living room attached to my primary TV so it will also serve as my media center. I cut the cable so it will only be for streaming, I can't imagine that that will matter much but if there are any common issues with using a gaming PC for TV please let me know. Also it's my first build so if there's any advice about how what I've chosen may be difficult to actually put together, put voice to it.

Only real preferences I have is to keep it forward thinking, a little future proofing is a good thing so if I've mistakenly made a poor choice ie: too few cores/threads/a format that may be on its way out please let me know as I am ignorant of those things. Also the SSD is a must, I hate loading times, and to be honest I don't get enough games to need more than 1 TB of storage for the first year, after which I'll still probably just get another bigger SSD.

Planning on buying all the pieces around the black Friday/cyber Monday sales so there's some time in case the 1080ti comes out and is a better fit.

Current Build Plan:

CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor $349.99
CPU Cooler: Corsair H115i 104.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler 119.99
MB: Asus MAXIMUS VIII HERO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard $199.99
Memory: G.Skill TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory 174.99