XFX Radeon RX 480 8GB Black Edition vs. XFX Radeon R9 290X 8GB Black Edition

Phaewryn

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2013
I'm a slow builder, I'd picked out a XFX Radeon R9 290X 8GB Black Edition card for my build (a year ago or so), but now they are all gone, so how does the XFX Radeon RX 480 8GB Black Edition card compare? Good drop in replacement? Better? Worse? In any ways different in any inferior manner? Or should I wait for the "next big thing" that is coming soon for the $200-$325 price range? (Only interested in AMD cards)

I'm mostly interested in XFX brand (because you can convert them to water-cooling without voiding your warranty), only AMD cards, and they have to be BLACK with minimal color accents (and absolutely no blue or green). I'm aiming for "black edition" components, it's a theme on this build.

It's going on a ga-z97x-ud5h-bk (black edition, gigabyte) board (and needs to match pretty). There's a i5-4690K running 3.5 GHz in it. I don't have any specific needs (I don't play the newest games, nor have huge monitors). I do need to do video editing in Movie Maker, and need to be able to stream live.

Opinions/Advice and/or links to places that have compared those cards appreciated (please refrain from advising me to choose NVIDIA). I'm at a set limit of $350 maximum, prefer closer to $300, and would be really happy at $250 (unless it comes with water cooling, in which case I can go a bit higher).

Rabmac

Reputable
Nov 29, 2015
The RX 480 is the better of those two cards. However, if you are getting one you only need the 4GB version as there is little to no difference between it and the 8GB version.

Phaewryn

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2013