Windows 10 product key help?

Aug 6, 2015
Due to a faulty motherboard I have decided to buy a different motherboard for my PC. I was wondering will I have to get a new Windows 10 product key in order to activate Windows 10 as well as new drivers etc. Sorry if this is an obvious question I'm new to PCs.

Thank you in advance.

Solution
it is possible but with the latest windows 10 update (the anniversary update) they have added a validation troubleshooter that would help validate your product key in these kind of situations. the usual way would be to call MS and see if they will re validate if it fails to because of new the mobo
it is possible but with the latest windows 10 update (the anniversary update) they have added a validation troubleshooter that would help validate your product key in these kind of situations. the usual way would be to call MS and see if they will re validate if it fails to because of new the mobo

Solution
I have replaced MoBos and even CPUs when a motherboard has failed on numerous occasions... there was no issue with reactivation Win 7 / Win XP). However, a failed motherboard replaced under warranty would normally be replaced with one from the same manufacturer. All of my rebuilds used the same MoBo brand. Since the OEM license for those OS's allowed for MoBo replacement, it would appear that the on-line activation procedure allows for this scenario. If you used an alternate brand, I imagine that you would have to make a call and talk your way thru it.

Win 10 on the other hand.... if it's not a mass market pre-built, that is you or your builder "bought Windows", no problem no matter how much stuff you change.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/Useterms/Retail/Windows/10/UseTerms_Retail_Windows_10_English.htm