Deciding on a camera

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fungao

Commendable
Aug 27, 2016
I'm a completely new photographer and i am deciding on what my first camera should be. My budget is around £600, roughly $788. I was considering between Nikon D3300, D5300, D5500, however, if I was wondering if i should get the D3300 with kit lens and 2 other lenses (probably something like a 55-200mm and a 50mm f/1.8) or the other cameras with only the kit lens, bearing in the mind i still have to buy sd card and other camera equipment

Happy0852

Commendable
Aug 27, 2016
I had one but make sure it one that fits best for you. You don't want a camera that doesn't work for you. Recommend D5000+ because of HD 1080p Photo

Fungao

Commendable
Aug 27, 2016

Thanks, when you say you had one, what did you have one of?

ALaster034

Distinguished
May 23, 2009
My aunt Terri has been into Photography all my life. I'm now 36 years old and wanted to get into Photography to take cool pictures of my kids lives.
She immediately went to the Canon Rebel as a good entry level camera. While I would have agreed with her I did a lot of research as I tend to do.
I finally came to the conclusion that the Sony a6000 was a REALLY good option.
I coach baseball and softball and tball. Kids and adult leagues.
The rebel felt big and it is slightly dated and yes I'm completely new to the photography scene so I know that its not a Nikon or Canon!!
But I couldn't help it. The mirrorless design is catching on and the lenses have adapters you can buy. I have 3 now.
This thing is awesome and it takes awesome HD pics @ 11 fps which (for me) is great. I get very clear high speed pictures. Overall the initial investment was $1200 which included a bag, camera body, and 2 lenses. That was also a sale because the body itself is $999 and the extra lens is $300 for the basic long range Sony Lens. I'm still new so I don't have the "mm" or model but I know the purpose for each lens. (forgive the lack of lingo)