Computer Engineering as a major

aplipinski

Commendable
Jun 10, 2016
Hey all. I would really appreciate some input from some veteran computer engineers out there. I am a sophomore in college and I just decided to switch my major of secondary education into something computer related. The problem is, I don't know what is out there. I only just developed a passion for computers. I honestly have no experience in robotics clubs or whatever gets the geniuses started. I just built a PC and I loved teaching myself about all the hardware and would love to pursue that interest. Any word from some of you who have been around the block? What is it you all really do? How did you get started? Did you have years of highschool experience or did you pick it up in the college classes? I'm a history guy, not a math guy, but I am willing to hurt my head trying to think that way if I need to. Any help is good help. I'm really on the fence about what direction I want to go but choosing the wrong path can mean more college years which means more money.

Solution

bliq

Distinguished
This is tough to answer objectively because I don't want to dissuade you. You could be very successful as an engineer but I don't know you.

I'm an engineer. i've been one for almost 20 years, working for internet companies that you would recognize. I can tell you that there are many facets of computer engineering. Some are software developers, some are operations guys, some are architects, some are scientists/researchers, some are technical managers, some are project/program/product managers. They all require somewhat different skills, mindsets, and personalities. But one thing they all seem to share is the ability to think through problems logically and the desire to figure out and understand complicated things. In most of the successful engineers I've met, this is usually not a learned skill, it's a personality trait.