Can't install (gpt/mbr/can't locate partition)

LukBoy99

Reputable
Sep 9, 2016
Ok so this is my first build im using a 500 gig hdd I had lying around, I fully formatted it to 1 ntfs partition and I tried installing windows to find a message saying it's mbr and I need gpt. Fine, I convert it to gpt and try again, Windows cant create a new disk /locate existing error message on choosing the partition.
I tried different sata, cleaned hdd back and forth between mbr and gpt, checked that mobo was set to uefi+legacy but to no avail, please help me.

Solution
Hi Luke,
It can be tricky initially setting up a GPT partition type to install Windows 10?
What I would do is attach the 500GB HDD to your new computer using the SATA 0 connector, connected to the Motherboard PCH. Don't have any other HDD's attached to the MB during installation, just this drive.

Then boot your computer using a Win-10 USB or downloaded ISO file on a DVD drive. It will automatically start "install windows" (3 pages). Click on Shift F10 which will take you to the Command line with Adm privileges.

type "Diskpart" which will start the command line diskpart appl. Type "Select Disk 0", then "Clean". If you want to make this disc a GPT Partition type, type "Select Disk 0", then "Convert GPT". The Partition type is now GPT...

John_VanKirk

Distinguished
Hi Luke,
It can be tricky initially setting up a GPT partition type to install Windows 10?
What I would do is attach the 500GB HDD to your new computer using the SATA 0 connector, connected to the Motherboard PCH. Don't have any other HDD's attached to the MB during installation, just this drive.

Then boot your computer using a Win-10 USB or downloaded ISO file on a DVD drive. It will automatically start "install windows" (3 pages). Click on Shift F10 which will take you to the Command line with Adm privileges.