Wiring my whole house with Cat6 - need help please, total noob here :)

2JZGTE

Reputable
Sep 21, 2014
Hi all,

We just bought an old house which we will be ripping apart, including inner walls, and renovate from top to bottom. Literally everything is going. So my wife and I (yes, she wants this too) thought about wiring the house for internet/networking and also POE cameras (that's a bit off topic for now). We plan on living in this house for at least 10 years and raising children there, so I want to futureproof it as much as possible (I know there's no such thing as futureproofing... but in this case I won't be ripping the walls out again, ever). I'm a total noob at this so I read and watched many tutorials and I think I got the basics now. Can you please comment on my prospected setup? I counted 22-24 plugs I'll be installing, still to be determined... not that we NEED that much, but I want to wire every room of the house, including the kitchen island (not the bathrooms though ahah).

Hardware
Modem provided by ISP
Router (with wireless) to be determined
10/100/1000 24 port switch to be determined
Cat6 23AWG 500MHz UTP Solid,Riser Rated(CMR),Bulk Ethernet Bare Copper (1000FT because it's not that much more expensive than 500FT)
Cat6 Punch Down Keystone Jack
Wall plates with for keystone jacks
Cat6 Plug Solid W/Insert 50U

Tools
Punch-Down Impact Tool for 66 and 110/88 Type
Network Cable Tester
Crimping Tool for RJ-45 RJ-11
Drill, etc.

Keep in mind I'm in Canada so trying to avoid Monoprice because of shipping/customs/currency exchange.

Questions :
1) Should I buy stranded cable to do my patch cables? Or can I/should I use the same solid cable? Trying to avoid overspending here, but I know solid cable could be a pain to manipulate on a daily basis when plugging and unplugging some devices.
2) Shielded vs unshielded?
3) Any other specs on my ethernet cable I should be aware of?