Dusting off (literally) Q9550 to overclock it?

2JZGTE

Reputable
Sep 21, 2014
Hi all,

So I'm thinking about recycling old PC parts I have lying around from a 2009 build :

• Q9550
    ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo
    OCZ 8gb DDR2
    ATI Radeon HD4870 (1gb DDR5)
    PSU : OCZ Stealthxstream 600w
    LG CD/DVD drive
    An old 2.5" laptop HDD (Hitachi, don't remember the details, 750gb)

What I would buy to complete the build

• The smallest and simplest ATX case possible (It's currently in a 2009 Antec 900... too big, heavy and noisy).
    The smallest SSD possible to install Windows and most frequently used applications (again, Chrome and Spotify)
    The PSU has lasted me 6 years until I took it out but it's not the best so maybe I could change it for something else, probably Seasonic M12-II 620W
    CPU cooler

I'm totally new to overclocking but I know the Q9550 is a good overclocker. The PC will be used in my gym (Spotify, Youtube, Netflix, internet browsing and a combination of all these... no gaming).

My questions

1) Will my mobo support that overclock?
2) Is this a good idea?
3) Can you recommend me a cheap CPU cooler? I really hate the bulky ones, low-profile would be great, especially that the case will be mid-tower. I don't wanna spend too much here as the PC will be tucked away in the gym, so nothing too fancy.
4) Any tips about overclocking this specific CPU?

My concern : the heatsink is completely clogged in dust but still running. Of course I wanna dismantle everything and blow off the dust, but I'm wondering if the CPU has sustained any damage because it ran with so much dust (I used to neglect that PC).

Thanks.

Yes, you motherboard support overclocking, in fact it has a program to OC in Windows, though i don;t know how good it works, called "TurboV"

I have a Q9550 OC'd to 3.5ghz and it runs nice and smooth, there is a noticeable difference in performance when doing basic tasks in Windows 10.

I am using Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo: