Upgrade from less than 1080p -- best plan for the future? 1080p vs 1440p? Gsync? Freesync? Gah

btx926

Commendable
Oct 28, 2016
Man, it's tough figuring out the best upgrade path on displays and graphics these days.

My current rig:
Sapphire Radeon 7970
i5 4690K
16 GB RAM
Monitor: SAMSUNG 2232BW+ (1680 x 1050 2ms)

Given that I'm not even at 1080p, I've been thinking hard about a monitor upgrade. I don't want to be replacing a monitor again for a while, so I'm trying to figure out what the best plan is for the long term -- in case it means upgrading my graphics card as well. I play mostly FPS, but do some stuff like Civ VI as well.

I'm a dev, so I have a 1440p IPS (30") on my desk as well. It's far too slow for gaming, though. It'd be nice to have lots of DP connection, but it doesn't seem like many displays ship with that.

So -- here goes with the questions.

1) I want a fast response time monitor -- hopefully one that performs better than the current one I have. I wish it was quicker than it is. I would probably go 27" regardless of the resolution. So, I'm assuming it is a 144hz monitor.

2) Currently have a radeon, but I'm not loyal to AMD. Freesync seems to make more sense long term -- but it's unclear which is going to win. I'd only hesitate on G-Sync because of the price and chance that Nivida bails on it.

3) If I go with a 1080p monitor, I think I can get by without an immediate graphics card upgrade. That's a plus. I don't know if that's going to make me sad at 27". 1080p isn't a huge resolution increase from where I am at, after all. But it might be worth it for a faster and larger monitor --- maybe?

4) If I go with a 1440p monitor, for sure I need a card. The 1070 would be the obvious choice -- but I'd be borderline CPUed throttled and the outlay of cash for a monitor plus a GPU is going to hurt -- I'd swallow it if I'm not turning around and doing it again this time next year though.