First i5 build - appreciate your advice on components

hagakure_s81

Commendable
May 5, 2016
Hi all,

This will be my first home build PC. I'm looking to build something that will last for years, to be used primarily for gaming + the usual (internet, watching video's etc.).
Basically, since this is my first build, i'd appreciate it very much if you can have a look over my parts list. See if there is anything I am wasting money on that I don't need, or anything you would recommend in place of the parts I have selected. I like good value, but never at the expense of quality, but I also don't like paying premium prices for a 0.5% increase in performance or something.
I'm not familiar will all the brands and technical aspects of the parts, so i've been doing a lot of reading up over the last couple weeks, and I think i've come up with a decent system that will hopefully let me overclock in the future, but not extreme like multiple GPU's etc.
I've gone for a setup that will allow me to wade in at the shallow end of overclocking in the future - once i've done my research.

http://nz.pcpartpicker.com/list/ssGyVY

Regarding the individual Selections:

CPU: i5-6600K. I'm not going to be doing much in the way of video editing or anything like that, so the i7-6700K seems unneccesary - If later I find I need that, I could always upgrade with the next gen i7.

CPU Cooler: This is probably the part I am most unsure of. Have put the Dark Rock Pro 3 in there for the moment. Other options would be the Cryorig H7 or Noctua NH-D14, or even the popular Hyper 212 Evo. However, I want to keep my options open on a moderate overclock for the system, so not sure if the 212 Evo will cut it or not? Am I wasting money if I go for the Dark Rock or Noctua?

Motherboard: Asus's Z170-A seems like a pretty good board for a nice price. Plus I like the look :)

GPU: EVGA's GTX 1070 SC version. I'm pretty set on the 1070 really, so its just a matter of brand and version here.