Failing Toshiba 1TB Hard Drive ~ Stuck at Stage 4 of 5 during CHKDSK F: /r

Nekoplexis

Commendable
Nov 24, 2016
Hello everyone. My name's Von.

I am a college IT student here in the Philippines.
I have this Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics 2.5" external hard drive (with SuperSpeed Port 3.0) that I've had for over a year (Since 2015) already and counting.
[Volume Label: F "Lukewarm MegaBox"]

It was the only external hard drive I had, and it was very reliable.

Until a few months ago, I've had problems with it...
Problems like:
- Weird hidden directory files in it that I couldn't search in File Explorer. (Stuff like "2353464345234-246235213545135-0000000E" folders or directories of some sort)

- Corrupted the whole disk when removing the external hard drive without using the "Safely Remove" method. (Luckily to be solved using CHKDSK F: /f)

- Won't 'Safely Remove' the hard drive because it's in use by another program.
(This is really an issue for me. [I've tried using a third party storage device removal software {SafelyRemove.exe?} that doesn't work as well. It found weird programs {with weird text names like "$REX000$\NTFS0000" or something that had 'dollar signs' and unknown directories in it. Not sure.} that are inside my external hard drive that I couldn't find, but still active on my hard drive, and is stopping me from safely removing my external hard drive. Is it a virus or something?])

- Slow file reading/writing/transferring/deleting. [Fails to read a file or folder, unable to cut/copy certain files ("Can't read from source file or disk" error or something when doing so) or folders, and sometimes crashes my OS {Technically Windows Explorer (explorer.exe)} whenever I have to open/cut/copy/delete a file.}

----

Could any of these be the reason why my external hard drive is slow as ever?
Or could it also be that my external hard drive is probably damaged or failing?
(Hope that it's not gonna die.)