SSD slowing down even when mostly empty

Dylan Shekter

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2013
My computer's main and only drive is a crucial mx300 750gb, the logic being that since I won't be filling it up too much I should be able to keep good speeds throughout more than the month and a half since I built it. The weird thing is that I've noticed significantly higher bios times and login times. All startup programs are disabled, but either way they shouldn't effect the loading before login. TRIM is enabled and I optimize on a weekly basis. The recovery drive says it needs optimization, but that shouldn't get in the way of performance, and clicking "optimize" does nothing.

I do have the crucial storage executive, which allowed me to update its firmware, although that didn't help. The S.M.A.R.T. stats concern me since they say

1 Raw Read Error Rate 2 Errors/Page
5 Retired NAND Blocks 1 NAND Blocks

I'm no expert so I don't know if this is bad, but the drive reports being healthy. Searches on the subject of retired block say this could warrant a return, but again, I'm not an expert.

Any advice?

Solution
The Good rating is what we wanted from CrystalDiskInfo. Passing Seatools is also good, though that warning just shows that it definitely is running slow as I normally don't get that on an SSD.

Do you have any network drives mapped by chance?

Ralston18

Titan
Take a look at Task Manager, Performance Monitor, and Resource Monitor.

See what processes, services, and applications are running at boot time. Take a look at how much CPU time, Memory, and RAM each may be taking.

The slowing could simple be some backup, some update, or indexing trying to "catch up" with the size of the drive.

Go to Crucial's website and check their forums, FAQs, and Chat (if available). Learn about what those errors may mean or imply.

Hopefully you have a 90 day warranty or better window within to RMA if necessary.

But do back up any important data elsewhere before doing anything else.