Can I use an external monitor as a laptop main screen?

Jerry_61

Commendable
Oct 13, 2016
I was wondering how another monitor works for a laptop. I want to get a 144Hz monitor with 1ms response rate for gaming of course but will there be any lag or delay because it's an external monitor and not the original laptop screen? Also I plan on using it as the main monitor so I'll have the laptop screen off while I use the monitor. Also I was wondering how the resolutions work. My laptop resolution is 1388x720 or whatever it is (I assume you guys know which one I have) but will a 1080 monitor work fine? I assume the 1388x720 is just my laptop screen and has nothing to do with my laptop itself so the monitor should work in 1080 right? I have no knowledge on this but I'm just taking a guess I plug it in and at most I'd have to change the settings to 1080. Oh yeah also I was planning to use an hdmi. One review I saw on an acer monitor someone said there's only 144hz for dual link dvi or something like that. I wanted 144hz for hdmi if that's a thing because I have no idea what dual link dvi is. Looking for any recommendations too. Not trying to spend more than $200.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00KO4518I#Ask

Some answers on the page says that only dvi is 144hz and some say dvi and hdmi. Is hdmi also 144hz? I was also planning to use it for a PS4. If there's a monitor that has my constraints and it's affordable then I'm all ears to hear any recommendations.

https://m.newegg.com/Product/index?itemnumber=N82E16824236722&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-PCPartPicker,%20LLC-_-na-_-na-_-na&AID=10446076&PID=3938566

Also looking at this one. 144Hz 1ms for laptop and PS4 is my goal =)

Solution
Your HDMI port likely can't push 144hz.

Unfortunately even with top of the line modern laptops, getting proper monitor output is a chore. For high bandwidth like 144hz or 4k you need to use a mini display port adapter, thunderbolt, or in some cases a USB 3.1 adapter.