IT Degree Guidance

DLMJOSLIN

Reputable
Jul 22, 2015
Good Day,

I recently separated from the US Navy. I'm searching for options as a civilian career. I have loved computers since I was a child, and would say I'm slightly above average when it comes to my knowledge base. I'm self taught up to this point but have a good working knowledge about certain hardware, software, operating systems such as: OSX, Windows vista-7, little about linux, and little about FreeNAS 9.10. I have done all of my own hardware upgrades for my machines as well as friends and family that trust me with their devices. I can troubleshoot common software issues with a somewhat low failure rate, and I recently built a NAS box using FreeNAS and PMS that ended in success which is used daily. I'm interested in software development e.g. coding languages, understanding code, networking, encryption, and potentially cyber security. I am aware there are more things I don't understand than there are that I do. Is there a job that encompasses all or most of the interests I've mentioned that also allows me to build on the foundation I have already developed? Any insight, comments, suggestions, guidance, or further questions welcomed. For the more personal questions please send them via private message

Thank you in advance.

Solution
Regarding "encompass":

Some job titles (IT and otherwise) are too generic, other positions may list an almost impossible set of skill, education, and experience requirements.

A good starting point is to begin online job searches. Look for positions that you feel qualified for based on both your post and your Navy experience (as applicable).

Hopefully you live in an area where there are numerous opportunities or, otherwise, you are willing to relocate.