Need to know the requirements for the EGPU for macbook Pro/Air

Tech_Pirates

Commendable
Dec 6, 2016
Hi guys,

Well I'm looking to buy Macbook Pro/Air not yet decided as my main purpose is to work on OS/X (I'm a developer) and sometimes play new games, so I have a planning to install windows on bootcamp to play windows games. But my question is I want EGPU for gaming purposes so what I would need to install EGPU on macbook pro and air!! As I've seen videos on youtube but no one has properly explained about what things you will need to install EGPU. And one more thing I'm looking to buy GTX 1080 GPU to install as egpu and I want to play games mostly on laptop.

So guys just let me know for both Pro and air so I will buy according and please keep this in mind that I'm living in India, so if you sharing the brand name then share it according to India and if possible share the links also as I generally buy items from amazon.in.

the only way to do eGPU on macbook is over thuderbolt.
you can use this one: https://bizon-tech.com/us/bizonbox2s-egpu.html/ or the newer version.
or you can build one yourself for about half the price.
honestly, macbook air CPU is too weak for both playing serious games and to power the GTX 1080 (GPU will be underutilized).
same goes for the Macbook pro 13 - even i7 is a mobile dual core variant.
for signing/debuging the apps, you can use any of them, but for gaming it would be better to get a separate rig.
Macbooks are expensive shiny toys. they are not professional instruments. I'm also a dev that have to use mac for work. but beyond that it's only good for browsing and typing.

Tech_Pirates

Commendable
Dec 6, 2016

Hi first of all thank you for the reply and from this reply please don't think that I'm disrespecting you or anything like that as it is just my opinion and nothing else!!

So tell me what about Apple Macbook pro 15 Inc with amd graphic (2015 model) will that be fine for GTX 1080 GPU as an EGPU??