How do i use a hard drive and an SSD?

Alex Kraus11

Commendable
Dec 6, 2016
Im new to pc building and heard that ssd + hard drive is good. Can someone explain how i can use them or is there a special hard drive/ssd?

Welcome to Tom's Hardware, @Alex Kraus11!

There's nothing special really about setting up a multi-storage configuration in your new PC build. :) However, there are some things that you need to be aware of when it comes to setting it all up. Once you have all the parts and you have put together the rig, you need to have a new genuine Windows install (because a new motherboard requires a new OS) and just the SSD connected to the system. If you have both the HDD and the SSD connected while installing the OS you are bound to encounter the so-called OS confusion that scatters the system files across all the SATA devices connected. In order to avoid that, keep the secondary HDD disconnected until Windows is up and running from the SSD. It's also important that you configure the SATA mode for it in AHCI from the BIOS menu and make sure that the boot priority options are properly set up.

I believe this detailed tutorial about Windows Install & Optimization for SSDs & HDDs can shed some more light on the step-by-steps.

Hope it helps you. Keep me posted if you have more questions! :)
SuperSoph_WD

The reason people pick both an SSD and a standard platter drive is to have the larger cheaper drive for application and file storage. If you don't need that, then you can just get a 256 or 512 GB SSD and not bother with a standard drive for applications, but you may want to keep files on it to keep wear on the SSD lower. Remember you also need a backup drive for your files. So install the programs on the SSD, and movies, photos, etc... on the standard drive, with a second backup drive also, maybe an external.

Jeff Kaos

Distinguished