Buying a PC for VR

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dustin Flower

Honorable
Jul 9, 2013
Hello! My roommates and I are thinking of buying a PC from craigslist to have as a "community hub" for the HTC Vive that we are also wanting to purchase. I'm aware of the minimum system specs and am not a complete noob when it comes to PC builds, but I was curious on other thoughts as my roommate has voiced some concern over the longevity of the build versus the increasing development of VR. The build is listed as follows:

- Intel Core i5-6500 Quad-Core
- 16GB Dual-Channel DDR4 RAM
- 1TB Hard Drive
- RX 470 (AXRX 470 4GBD5-3DH/OC)
- EVGA 100-B1-0450-K1
- Wi-Fi Ready
- Windows 10 Home

I am unsure of the MOBO that it's using and what brand RAM exactly, but would there be any cause for concern over needing to upgrade any of those components in a relatively short time frame (thinking 6 months give or take)? It's listed at $600, and recreating the build on pcpartpicker has me at $500 without the MOBO and RAM. We would greatly appreciate an opinion on whether or not this would be a smart purchase, or if we should stick to building our own. Thank you in advance!

Solution
http://radeon.com/en-us/cyberpowerpc-vr-ready/

Yep.
That has an RX-470 and an FX-4350 CPU (weaker than the i5-6500 and not recommended for normal games).

So you meet the minimum spec.

VR isn't quite like the minimum spec you get with the desktop supposedly. From what I've read you should get a smooth experience if you meet the minimum. I'm sure there will be glitches but that's my understanding.

There are several ways that VR attempts to smooth the experience such as asynchronous time warp, and dynamic scaling of processed elements to ensure a consistent frame rate.
I would probably build new one that rx 470 i dont think will last very long as far as VR goes.