Short interview with someone in Helpdesk or Network support

Morgan_23

Commendable
Jan 14, 2017
Hello, i'm a student and I am going to graduate this summer. I am looking into the Information Technology field for my career, specifically I've been looking at Network Support. I've been meeting with a career counsellor and she had recommended to do an interview with someone who is working in the field. Can you provide the company you work for too.
Questions as follows:

1. On a typical day in this position, what do you do?
2. What training or education is required for this type of work?
3. Where have you received your training to work in this field?
4. What personal qualities or abilities are important to being successful in this job?
5. What part of the job do you find the most challenging and/or satisfying?
6. What entry level positions are available for this occupation?
7. What are the salary ranges for various levels in this field?
8. Is there a demand for people in this field?
9. What special advice would you give me for entering this field?
10. How did you find your job?

Here's my brief take on what could really fill volumes:

1. On a typical day in this position, what do you do?
A. I help people get their work done. I don't mean this answer to be snarky; if you're going into user support, this is your reason for having a job. They could be having software, hardware, network, or other technical problems, and I do what I can to answer questions, teach operation, or gather the information needed by higher-level technicians.
2. What training or education is required for this type of work?