Is Windows 10 worth upgrading to yet?

Subressor

Honorable
Jul 29, 2013
I really, really am against free malware. I don't want my data to be siphoned and sold. I want my OS to be a thing completely in my control to do with whatever I please with.

I'm very happy with Windows 7; it does everything I want a OS to do. But I heard some things are not going to be supported anymore (new CPU's of which mine doesn't apply) and some general bashing on these forums against reluctant people.

My primary purpose is playing demanding video games, I have a great up-to-spec PC. I am incredibly concerned at the 'free' price tag of Windows 10. Nothing is ever free, and I do not want to pay with my privacy or lack of control.

I heard you can't disable auto-updates, it still steals all of your data, it's very buggy and had zero performance gains over Windows 7. What do you guys think?

Solution
I love Windows 10, I have been using it for over two years. I have read all of the silly stories about Windows 10 but I have also looked at the real truth behind Windows 10, so I am not concerned with any data mining or any of that other conspiracy theory stuff. I say that if you have the money and can afford to buy Windows 10, I highly recommend it.
Win10 is not free anymore, and the data collection is blown out of proportion and also present in 7 and 8.1 now afaik. I went Pro to set up a group policy for "Check and notify" for updates, or if you are on WiFi set as a metered connection (can be done in "Home").

The free upgrade period to Windows 10 has been over several months ago. You will now have to pay for the privilege of having your personal usage data siphoned off.

On the Windows 10 version that I'm using, I've turned off the majority of the data siphoning. I do use DX12 in some of the current games that support it as the option to enable it is becoming more prevalent.

The Enterprise edition allows you full control over disabling data gathering.