Move operating system from hdd to ssd without losing any data

Pcenthusiast16

Commendable
Mar 27, 2016
I want to move the operating system from my hard drive to ssd without losing any data. I havent got anything to back up my data on either. I would like clear and easy steps so that a complete newbie like me could understand

Solution
installing win 10 - an hour at most

Installing everything else - depends how organised you are before you do it. Will always forget something but if you have a list of the codes you need (user names and password for any subscriptions you have) then you can always get most things back. Cloud saves are your friend. USB's with all the drivers you might need and backups of all the files you don't want to lose. << this is easier still if you clean installing on a new drive and have everything still on old drive...

anyway, I leave it to USAFRet :)
If the new ssd can hold the used contents of your hard drive, the answer is easy.

1. Buy a Samsung evo ssd of suitable size.
2. Use the free Samsung ssd migration aid to move the "C" drive to the new ssd.
3. Replace your current hard drive with the ssd.

The old hard drive can then be repurposed for whatever.

USAFRet

Titan

What is the size of the new SSD?
How much total used space is consumed on the current HDD?

Assuming things 'fit', like this:
-----------------------------
Verify the actual used space on the current drive is significantly below the size of the new SSD
Download and install Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration, if a Samsung SSD)
Power off
Disconnect ALL drives except the current C and the new SSD
Power up
Run the Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration)
Select ALL the partitions on the existing C drive
Click the 'Clone' button
Wait until it is done
When it finishes, power off
Disconnect ALL drives except for the new SSD
Swap the SATA cables around so that the new drive is connected to the same SATA port as the old drive
Power up, and verify the BIOS boot order