Replacing 5+ year-old machines - Where do I start?

jb1311

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2009
I'm looking to replace both my 7-year-old desktop and my 5-year-old laptop, and I was hoping to pick your collective brains. I have three usage scenarios that I'd like to cover with 2 computers:

1. Work laptop - I'm an attorney, so my tech needs aren't particularly demanding. It needs to be portable enough that it's not too much of a pain to commute with on a daily basis, but it doesn't need to be ultra-thin or ultra-light. It also needs to look respectable enough that I can pull it out in front of a client without feeling unprofessional. (Unlike my current laptop, which is quite literally falling apart.) I prefer a 15" screen, and I definitely want a numeric keypad.

2. Personal laptop - 90% of the time, I'll be using it for email, surfing the web, watching movies, and video chatting. Occasionally, though, I like to be able to game on my laptop when I'm traveling. See #3 for my typical game selection. I don't need the games to be super smooth, as this won't be my primary gaming machine, but they need to be playable at reasonable graphics settings, preferably at native resolution. My current laptop has a rather kludgey manual switch to turn on and off the discrete graphics, which I'd like to avoid in a new machine. I've gotten used to a 1080p screen and would prefer not to downgrade. I also like my backlit keyboard.