144hz vs 240hz with g-sync

Qtroz1

Commendable
Jan 25, 2017
Hi,
If i got a 240hz monitor(Asus pg258q) and my pc can acctually run bf1 at around 150fps, will there be a problem like tearing or whatever??????
And the second thing is will it make a big differnce between a regular 144hz and the 240hz in games that i can get high framerates at like csgo??

If not what do you think i should get:
Asus Pg258q 240hz+g-sync
Or
Asus vg248qe?

Solution
If your frame rate is that high on a monitor with that refresh rate I doubt you are going to notice any artifacts. The screen will be refreshing as fast as needed. I'm not a monitor expert by any means but I'm not really sure if there is a perceivable difference between 144hz and 240hz. You can definitely tell between 60hz and 144hz but after that I think diminishing returns sets in. After a while higher refresh rates and fps just becomes numbers. If your not dipping under 60 fps you should be fine. Gsync will help keep everything smooth if you drop low but it doesn't sound like that is a problem.

arossetti

Honorable
Feb 22, 2013
If your frame rate is that high on a monitor with that refresh rate I doubt you are going to notice any artifacts. The screen will be refreshing as fast as needed. I'm not a monitor expert by any means but I'm not really sure if there is a perceivable difference between 144hz and 240hz. You can definitely tell between 60hz and 144hz but after that I think diminishing returns sets in. After a while higher refresh rates and fps just becomes numbers. If your not dipping under 60 fps you should be fine. Gsync will help keep everything smooth if you drop low but it doesn't sound like that is a problem.

Solution

Tanoxil

Reputable
Jan 27, 2017

Jacoblairm

Prominent
Mar 25, 2017

What? So when I play a 30 tick BF4 server I should play at 30hz otherwise its "useless"???

Qtroz1

Commendable
Jan 25, 2017
What? So when I play a 30 tick BF4 server I should play at 30hz otherwise its "useless"???[/quotemsg]