What cert's should I go after?

Calibuilt99

Commendable
Sep 11, 2016
Hi guys, so basically i'm graduating high school pretty soon here, and I had a few questions. To start, i'm not interested in going to college or anything, but trade school isn't completely off the table if I have to do that in the future. I am currently studying to get my A+ certification, and to be honest I'm not sure what to do once I get it. I have a passion for computers, and it's what I want to have my job revolve around when I graduate, and I wanted some advice. Do I apply for jobs like help desk where people call with questions regarding their computer? Do I work on getting other cert's like S+ or N+? And if I do go after S+ or N+ what do those jobs entail? I like computers, and I'm not familiar with networking besides the basic at home stuff. I know some jobs in the government like the DoD require the S+ cert, but what are those jobs like? Any insight would be super helpful, thanks!

Kenneth Barker

Reputable
Aug 17, 2015
If you want to get a job that will take some serious work (studying an awful lot for the next year or so), but will get you in line to land 6 figure pay. Go and work on getting certified with AWS/Azure cloud infrastructure certs. These are were the jobs are at, and are all moving in the direction of. You can quite literally leap frog yourself from nothing to a rather large something pretty quickly.

I did something very similar when I started working freshly out of HS, and deciding not to go to college. Learn these upcoming skills like AWS and Azure, and you will be on the path to a seriously awesome career with amazing pay and growth potential.