Solution
The subjective difference between 1080P and 1440P depends on a number of factors.

How good is your eyesight? Someone with a little less than excellent vision at monitor distances is going to have a hard time distinguishing 1080p from 1440p. When I used to work in IT Support I was surprised by the number of people who preferred to run their 1280x1024 displays at a lower resolution because they preferred everything to be bigger, and couldn't seem to tell it was extremely soft and fuzzy (to my eyes, at least).

How big is the monitor? In terms of sharpness, what actually matters is pixels-per-inch. So a larger 1440P is actually just as sharp (or possibly even less sharp) as a smaller 1080P display. Obviously it's larger, which is...
The subjective difference between 1080P and 1440P depends on a number of factors.

How good is your eyesight? Someone with a little less than excellent vision at monitor distances is going to have a hard time distinguishing 1080p from 1440p. When I used to work in IT Support I was surprised by the number of people who preferred to run their 1280x1024 displays at a lower resolution because they preferred everything to be bigger, and couldn't seem to tell it was extremely soft and fuzzy (to my eyes, at least).

How big is the monitor? In terms of sharpness, what actually matters is pixels-per-inch. So a larger 1440P is actually just as sharp (or possibly even less sharp) as a smaller 1080P display. Obviously it's larger, which is probably a good thing, but it's no necessarily sharper.
Can you tell the difference in "sharpness" between a smaller and larger 1080P display? Would you pay more money to get the larger display to look just as sharp as the smaller one?