How to overclock... 4790k aiming 4.7/4.8ghz

Pablix360

Honorable
Jun 21, 2015
I'm finally upgrading my CPU cooler from stock one to NZXT Kraken x62 with a mission to overclock my i7 4790k to 4.7 ghz (or higher if possible). First of all I need know if I can even reach those number with my current setup which is:

Asus Z97-Pro Gamer
Corsair Vengance 2x8GB 1600mhz
Corsair RM650x
GTX1080 Ti FE
Crucial SSD 250GB (Windows)
Segate HDD 1TB
NZXT H440 Razer Edition

I'm completely new to overclocking as I have never done it, never read about it etc....

So I'm here asking how to basically do it from start to end.

Thanks!

burtman88

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2011
Well first off Asus makes Overclocking much more simple. You can use asus Rog program in windows that will automatically do it for you. Or you can do it in bios again very straight forward it will do it for you. Or you can set the speed and voltages yourself. Why i love Asus board very nice bios set up. user friendly, However looking your cpu up, it seems like to achieve 4.7 ghz you will need cpu voltage of 1.3v

Pablix360

Honorable
Jun 21, 2015

Yes the BIOS does gave a nice and friendly GUI which makes it easy to look for options when people tell me to check them. I've got installed the Ai Suite software from the CD I got with the motherboard - is that pretty much the same as the Asus Rog?

Also what is the difference with the CPU voltages? I know different speeds will need different voltages and the temp the CPU will run at is also dependent on that but is there anything else to it?

Don't bother with built in oc programs, they generally add way too much voltage and rarely achieve the best possible oc.