R5 1600x or R7 1700 (Which one to get)

GuyCalledJack

Commendable
Feb 1, 2017
(Im still fairly new to the whole pc spectrum so sorry if I get information wrong, corrections would be appreciated)

I've been planning to get a 1700 since they have been out and am saving up for them but with the release of the ryzen 5 series and the 1600x as the highest model, it does not seem to far off the 1700. I have looked at benchmarks for them from the Gamers Nexus and from the games that they benchmarked, sometimes there is no difference in performance or the 1600x would have a lead.
This makes me think that I should go for the 1700 as if there is a minimal disadvantage in performance, then the power that 1700 has in other tasks like rendering which out way the loss in gaming performance but then it is reversed as the 1600x is not too far behind the 1700 in rendering and is cheaper, so now I'm torn between the two. This then would make it clear that the 1600x would be the obvious choice but it does not come with the a cooler (if I'm not mistaken) which then brings up the price to buy one, and the 1700 runs at 65 TDP while the 1600x at 95 which would then allow the 1700 to run cooler which means that the stock cooler that comes with the 1700 would do well enough, so yet again I'm torn between the two.

Simply I just want to know which one to get and if there is anything else about these cpu's that I missed tell me and it could influence my choice.

TY for any responses :)

You pretty much answered your own question. More cores will help in things like streaming/rendering. Clock speed helps more in pure gaming, but all of these Ryzens can overclock to about 4GHz. If you are only gaming, the R5 1400 is a good choice. If you actually can use 8c/16t then get the 1700.

GuyCalledJack

Commendable
Feb 1, 2017

I do 3d modeling and sometimes video rendering as well as gaming so you reckon the 1700 would be the good choice?

drinkingcola86

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2008