System Image Backup Question

I'm new to win10 ... but I'm in the process of upgrading several laptops from Win7 to Win10. I've done a few so far with no huge issues.

I would like to protect myself against some kind of catastrophic failure (hard drive crash, etc.). System Image Backup seems ideal except that when I read about actually using the image it says the following;

'To restore your computer from backup, connect the drive with the system image backup and reboot your computer with the Windows installation media. During the Windows Setup, click Next, then click the Repair your computer link in the bottom-left corner of the screen. Click on Troubleshoot, click Advanced options, and select System Image Recovery. Now select the target operating system you want to recover, click Next and Finish'.

This is problematic because of course .... I have no installation media (other than the Win7 disk). Is there a simple solution to this or .... is there a better way to do a full system backup of Win10?

Solution

Ok ... didn't take me long to run into boot problems with win10 ... tried to uninstall Avast Premium... uninstall got stuck part way through ... so downloaded their recommented file to clean up the mess ... ran it ... 1st thing it says is to run it and safe mode ... hit the restart in safe mode button in that application ... computer shut down and when it tried to restart ... screen saying problems running Win10 ... tried various repair options that that screen allow but none worked ... said it couldn't find restore points even...

Coup77

Honorable
Jul 23, 2013
Download the "Media creation tool" from Microsoft, run it and select "Create installation Media for Another PC"

..... You can burn it to a DVD or make a bootable USB stick.

This is an Install / Recovery image, which you can use to run a new install or use the recovery options on any PC.