Alibaba -- What the hell is that ?

MagicWolf

Reputable
Jan 12, 2015
Alright before i start -- this is not really a tech question but rather acquiring one and i will check the messages if there are any tomorrow!

I am really new to it & was wondering what's with the prices that they have put on display?

I really doubt that it is so bloody cheap even if you buy in big quantities.

Or is the shipping price even higher than the actual item ? Is that the only catch ?

Like for instance i saw multiple phones for less than $100 whilst in my country and many others it varies around $500.

I know It's China and all but these prices are insane compared to others like Aliexpress/Ebay and even Amazon.

Final question - Do i need to first contact the seller so we can agree on an actual price and the one on display means nothing? I know Alibaba is more for bulk buyers etc. but still...

Thank you,

E

Solution
Alibaba - Primarily a B2B site, not really for the consumer.
Those prices you see may only be available if you buy in lots of 1,000.
Part of the same corp as Aliexpress.

And of course, they may be complete knockoffs, and not the real deal.

USAFRet

Titan
Alibaba - Primarily a B2B site, not really for the consumer.
Those prices you see may only be available if you buy in lots of 1,000.
Part of the same corp as Aliexpress.

And of course, they may be complete knockoffs, and not the real deal.

Solution

MagicWolf

Reputable
Jan 12, 2015

Well i get that and i saw the huge quantities some sellers require in order to even place an order and i get that Alibaba is mostly for buyers that own companies and etc., but i also learned that it's no problem to buy even without a company etc., and for instance i saw a GTX 1080 / Min. Quantity Buy - 2 / Cost of each - $300. Should i believe that?

Even with the import tax/VAT and shipping fee into my country it would be way less than the actual prices here.

What's your opinion ? Should i try my luck or pass?