VMware ESXi 5.1.0

Kevvie

Prominent
May 18, 2017
Recently I got a new IT company to setup my PC Networking in the office. Long story short, the company stole from me and I cancelled the service.

Now, I have some IT background.. but not that much. What we wanted to do is have a server PC for the company running Windows7, how he put Windows7 on VMware I do not know.

The problem I am having is that he installed VMware EXSI 5.1.0 on the server, what he did on there only he knows. He won't give me any credentials, maybe to try and spite me. anyway, all I could see on the server is the IP address, I was told to download vSphere Client, however, I do not have the root username and password. This is my first encounter with VMWare so I am totally in the dark.

The second problem I have is that it seems he has a VPN or something as he can see every single PC and the amount downloaded and uploaded, I don't know if he goes through the switch to see that - he still has access, and I need to change it so he can't have access to my business network.

Any advice would be appreciated. :)

freercurse

Distinguished
Dec 16, 2016
Hi there,

first things first.
I would suggest a full re installation of windows 7 on the PC, and consider more recent OS.
to eliminate any possibilities that the old company has made any malicious changes.
Next i would also reinstall the vmware exsi host on the machine. to start from afresh, as the configuration may also be changed. As for access. What you you use for internet access, such as Firewall. This may need to be factory reset, or a check through to ensure that the VPN config doesnt allow inbound access for this traffic (this should also fix the remote access problem.). I would recommend factory resetting the switches. as unless having complicated network generally wont need much configuring.