Triple Display causing big problems

The_Observer

Commendable
Sep 28, 2016
Hello - I finally got round to wall mounting my 4K TV and hooked up my two 23" asus monitors for a triple display via my gtx1080... I am an editor so this is very useful, and not just a gimmick.

To my disappointment, it barely works at all...;

The computer runs very slow, and the task bars on the two smaller displays are not clickable. Nothing is really responsive at all on the windows UI side of things, and a pixel wide line keeps flashing where the top of the taskbar is supposed to be to my main 49" 4k display. And little things, like I need to use alt + tab t change windows... and if i click windows D to reveal the desktop, nothing happens, until about 20-30 seconds later.

What is going on here? I have updated my drivers, and gone into device manager to refresh everything. The two asus 23" are Display Port whilst the 49" 4k is HDMI. I have been using dual screens now for a long time and have never had any problems like this... even unhooking one asus screen still gives me these problems, while not quite as severe as far as I can tell.. (I used to use DVI when I had a dual monitor set up, so am wondering if this has anything to do with it).

If I switch to a single screen, everything runs as it should - lightning fast, with responsive taskbar and windows menu, keyboard shortcuts etc.

Very frustrating.. any advice would be useful.

i7 4790k
pny xlr8 gtx1080
16gb RAM (i have 32 waiting to be installed, so can upgrade if that would help)
Asus z97-A

R_1

Expert
Ambassador
the 1080 has a max resolution of 7680x4320 @ 60hz. Assuming the 2 side displays are 1920x1080 displays you are pushing the limits of the card. You are using all its 7680x4320 pixels. unplug a side display and see if performance returns to normal. if so I would suggest a second video card for the side displays.

The_Observer

Commendable
Sep 28, 2016