back to the basics (ish)

SilverFord01

Reputable
Aug 2, 2015
Hey y'all, I'm fairly new to the user interface controlling of systems and components. I built a gaming rig and made it work but didn't get much past the "plug & play" part of the machine. I built this machine in December 2014, and recently had to have my OS wiped & reinstalled due to OS corruption (still no idea how it corrupted, it worked fine earlier in the day). Anyways, since the fresh install, all my control software had to be reinstalled, all drivers updated, games installed fresh etc. My question is, I have read that the card I have, a PNY GeForce GTX 550 Ti XLR8 can be OC'd. (Yes I know it's an old card, but bare with me) I am in the market for a GTX 1060 6gb, but before I buy and install, I want to learn how to OC a GPU with a card I wont feel bad about blowing up if I make a mistake. I'm just learning to OC the CPU, but as it goes I don't even know where to start with the GPU. I have no control center or controlling software installed to see or adjust the actions of the GPU and would prefer something from NVIDIA if they make said products. The board I bought for the build came with "Control Center" and "ClickBIOS 2" software to make user interface easier, I was curious if there is such a product for the NVIDIA GPU as well? System build is a MSI Z77MPower, Intel core i5 3570k OC'd to 4.2 (using the OC Genie atm), 3.5" HDD, 8gb ram in dual channel and a Zalman 120mm closed loop liquid cooler stuffed in a CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case.

You can use MSI Afterburner. It's quite simple to OC using MSI Afterburner - turn the power target to the max, and then gradually keep increasing the clock speed slider and, along with it, the voltage slider(careful with the voltage, that's what fries stuff usually - take it extremely slow) and keep stress testing each time, until you hit a point the system is no longer stable, and then move to the previous stable setting, and you're done OCing the GPU.