Having problems immediately following boot-up; starting to wonder if it's related to OS or hardware

BuffMuffles

Reputable
Jan 20, 2016
Hey there, forum friends. Had a question for you guys and gals, since I'm still relatively new to the technical side of PC software.

I upgraded to Win10 from Win7 awhile back, while they were running the upgrade program. I've enjoyed the OS for the most part, with no issues to speak of, until roughly 72 hours ago. I was playing a relatively system-intensive game (Black Desert Online, specifically), when all of a sudden, my PC had a strange graphics issue, with the screen suddenly displaying nothing but alternating colored vertical bars. (Also, the sound in my headphones went into a buzzing sound.) The system then shut off. I turned it back on, and it worked fine again.

Jump about a day later, this time, I'm playing Final Fantasy XIV; it happens again, same bars, though different colors (likely based on the display at the time, if I had to guess). Computer goes down--this time, however, Win10 will not boot. So after a bit of trying, the computer makes it into the built-in recovery mode. I tried everything in here, exhausting all the options. Not a single thing worked. I then managed to get it into Safe Mode after messing with the restart options (my last hope), where I was able to confirm the hard drive still had my files intact. I got my stuff out on some flash drives, then cleaned off the drive. Using a recovery media on a USB, I performed a clean reinstall of Win10 onto the empty drive, and made it all the way to the standard screen (I want to say it's just called a desktop? Not 100% sure). I immediately noticed the system tray wasn't aligned right; Cortana, for instance, was elevated above her default position, in the wrong spot, and my system clock didn't look right. The wallpaper default was also messed up as well, with several large squares slowly moving around the screen. It then crashed again, and will not boot once more.