Laptop for programming/gaming/game development

SARCASTROPHE

Commendable
Jan 9, 2017
So I'm studying computer engineering and want to have sort of a side project (game development).
I am looking to buy a laptop that fits programming (I know, decent processor will do), gaming and game development.
I'm looking for suggestions about models and brands.
Here is some information to take in account:
- Portability does NOT matter
- I'm not willing to buy apple products
- The laptop requires a graphics card other than the one integrated in the CPU
- Good cooling and battery life would be nice, but not a big "must"
- I'm looking for a 17.3" screen, but can be persuaded to use a 15.6". Also would like for it to be an IPS, at least 1080p@60Hz

Thanks in advance for responses :)

Solution
I'll try to give you some hints in general based on my own experience:

1) 512GB or larger SSD (game sources are LARGE (code, raw graphics, raw audio etc.) and you want to have them on SSD)
2) at least 16GB RAM
3) i7 cpu

This will cover most of your general Visual Studio torture for development itself. From my OLD (Dx9 old) experience, nVidia cards were better for debugging, but I am not sure about current models

4) second screen - you'll need this when you run debugger on gfx card, when you step on breakpoint, gfx card cannot render further (so whole your video output of said card is frozen) - you run one screen from cpu graphics and one screen from video card, allowing you to actually debug.

5) good ergonomic chair, keyboard...

Jan_26

Commendable
Jun 30, 2016
I'll try to give you some hints in general based on my own experience:

1) 512GB or larger SSD (game sources are LARGE (code, raw graphics, raw audio etc.) and you want to have them on SSD)
2) at least 16GB RAM
3) i7 cpu

This will cover most of your general Visual Studio torture for development itself. From my OLD (Dx9 old) experience, nVidia cards were better for debugging, but I am not sure about current models