Finding a job after college

imaginaryche

Honorable
Jun 19, 2012
I'm a recent grad from college having majored in Management Information systems. I had managed to get a 3.57 GPA (Cum Laude at my university). My problem though is I never gained any relevant work experience. I was wondering where I should start when it came to a job search. It seem like positions that are lower tier help desk type positions think I am over qualified, while any job above those thing i'm under-qualified. I've been looking for about three months now and was wondering if I could get any insight. Any is appreciated. Thanks.

Solution

Well that is also the case for mid-career level people like me who have lost jobs over the years. It's either over qualified or under qualified. Do you have a LinkedIn page? Also, join trade groups in your knowledge area. The more you network, the better your chances of getting a foot in the door. It's too late now, but did your university have intern programs? I did that when I was in college and it landed me my first job. Volunteering also helps if related to your...

Go to a random company and become the company's IT guy. Once you have enough experience and you want to move to something bigger go ahead. Just make sure you don't leave said company's IT in crumbles.

Well that is also the case for mid-career level people like me who have lost jobs over the years. It's either over qualified or under qualified. Do you have a LinkedIn page? Also, join trade groups in your knowledge area. The more you network, the better your chances of getting a foot in the door. It's too late now, but did your university have intern programs? I did that when I was in college and it landed me my first job. Volunteering also helps if related to your industry. For example, volunteer to assist a school or church in managing their IT department.