Recently Laid Off. Ways to gain IT Experience While I Have the Time?

Carpathian

Honorable
Feb 3, 2014
Hey all,

As I state in the title, I was recently laid off. I live in a state in the U.S. that isn't exactly financially responsible and as such the agency I work for has cut a bunch of jobs. As unfortunate as this is, the upside is that I now have time to focus on school and possibly gain some experience in IT, whereas before I was more constrained. I'm trying to work out an internship, but as me getting laid off is so close to the beginning of Fall semester I fear that might not be possible as almost all programs will surely be filled by now.

So, I ask the community, do any of you have any good ideas on ways to gain some experience in a professional setting? Perhaps a part time just doing repairs? Volunteer opportunities? I'm new to all of this so I thought people with more experience may have some good input. My main areas of focus are Networking and Security, if that helps at all.

Thanks all!

Solution
So, then any large office with a small or large IT staff should work. You'll have a better shot at of landing an internship if you hoof it and knock on doors. Rather than trying to find an internship program for IT. As an intern a manager will be more willing to add you to the staff. As, you will cost little or nothing.

Being pushy helps. It takes guts and drive to walk into an office to push for a job. Even if it is just an internship. Managers respect that more. Ask to speak to the manager. If they are busy, wait. If they are still busy. Wait some more.

If it is an office where internships are common (law, medicine). The employer may be more willing. As they had to get an internship at one time.

Oh, and wear a tie.

Ralston18

Titan
Do not give up on internships. Make the applicable organizations aware of your interest and abilities. Someone else already accepted may change their mind or otherwise not work out as expected.