Newbie PC build

rastanatsta

Prominent
Aug 14, 2017
Good evening all!

I'm hoping some of you more tech savvy people could help me with a first time pc build. I've been watching youtube videos about parts and descriptions of PCIe 3.0 x 16 stuff and my head is fried.

My build is: https://uk.pcpartpicker.com/list/8ttZbj

This is my first time building a pc so I'm just looking for advice on what parts to invest in and how complicated it will be.

I will for the mean time only be playing most games at 1080p until I cash out on a 1440p monitor, but just want the TI for 'future-proofing'.

The main confusion I have is that I am going for the STRIX Z270-E GAMING motherboard with 2 x PCIe 3.0 x16 slots. I'm assuming that's the best slot for the graphics card? And will the M.2 SSD stop me from using any slots as i've read it takes up a motherboard slot? Lastly... overclocking, is it worth it? Is it recommended? Would the cooler I've got handle it?

Obviously if anyone has any suggestions then the help would be very much appreciated!

Thanks for your time, and sorry for my lack of knowledge, I am trying to read up on all of this.

Regards,
Nathaniel

lilje2020

Prominent
Aug 13, 2017
Hi Nathaniel,

Generally the PCI slot closest to the CPU is the dedicated slot for Video Cards. Motherboards that have the ability to support dual cards will also provide documentation of which slots to use. In reality you are buying all modern components so you won't have any compatibility issues - don't spend too much time trying to wrap your head around PCI specs etc :)

M.2 uses some of the available PCI lanes in your system. In some complex set ups this could end up being a problem. In your case it is nothing that will impact you as you don't have a system with multiple GPU's etc.