Best Reference for Java Programming Beginners

Status
Not open for further replies.

GamerX23

Honorable
Nov 18, 2013
I'm an IT student and we recently started programming using java. I'm looking for the best and effective reference to learn Java. It can be books, articles, lectures etc. that you know.

Solution
start writing it. start off small, "i want to make a scientific calculator, type program", then start researching how it's done. Programing is much easier to learn if you do it, and try to figure it out, then have classes to augment your knowledge after the fact; or learn how to do things in ways you didn't know, or to explain what you don't get.

I hate to compare it to cooking but it's a good example. How much cooking can you learn sitting in a classroom listening to a teacher talk about how to cook lasagna? I mean the lesson will help if you TRIED to cook lasagna in the past and failed. atleast then you have some basic knowledge to relate to what the teacher is talking about. But if you've never even cooked an egg before...
start writing it. start off small, "i want to make a scientific calculator, type program", then start researching how it's done. Programing is much easier to learn if you do it, and try to figure it out, then have classes to augment your knowledge after the fact; or learn how to do things in ways you didn't know, or to explain what you don't get.

I hate to compare it to cooking but it's a good example. How much cooking can you learn sitting in a classroom listening to a teacher talk about how to cook lasagna? I mean the lesson will help if you TRIED to cook lasagna in the past and failed. atleast then you have some basic knowledge to relate to what the teacher is talking about. But if you've never even cooked an egg before, never made noodles, or bread or tomato sause, and he starts going into it you'll feel pretty lost.