BSOD (Bad Pool Caller) every time I try to connect Ethernet (At University)

devidranity

Prominent
Sep 17, 2017
(Please understand that I'm a complete novice with this stuff, so if my terminology is wrong I apologise)

Hey there, I've just arrived at my Uni and am settling into my room. However when I tried to connect the Ethernet I noticed that my brand new Dell Laptop will BSOD on startup normally soon after I get to my home screen. Truthfully I never attempted to connect via Ethernet whilst at home, so I do not know if this has always been an issue.

I have these dump files here, however I don't really know much about reading through them myself.
Dump Log Folder

Any kind of advice or explanation would be great. The Wifi is working perfectly fine, it's only the Ethernet. I've already had multiple issues with this laptop and am aiming for compensation from Amazon, so if it is a hardware issue I would like to know so I can include it in my complaints!

Solution
virus scanners often get blamed for problems that are actually caused by network drivers.
I would update the network driver and see if the virus scanner works correctly.
I do this just because older network drivers also causes problems with streaming software.

Sedivy

Estimable
Which windows version is this?
Anyway, here's the nice troubleshooting suggestion for this:
https://www.deskdecode.com/bad-pool-caller-0x000000c2/
My advice would be, since you know this happens with your network card, update your network drivers asap. Go onto your laptop support site, and download latest network drivers. If it doesn't help, follow the rest of the troubleshooting from above list.
The drivers listed in your three dump files are intelppm.sys, rt640x64.sys and hal.dll
The rt one is realtek which is network adapter so you know it does have something to do with it so start there.

avast and McAfee installed
I would remove one (or both)

---------------------
bad pool caller is a device driver problem.