Help me optimize my build before I start ordering? First time builder.

FrankRD

Commendable
Nov 8, 2016
Hey all! I'm a first time builder and I was hoping to get some opinions on my build before I decide to order anything.

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/FrankRD/saved/xVwYrH

It doesn't have to be pretty, since it will be living under my desk. Price, functionality, and volume are key.

It should definitely be gaming grade, but it doesn't have to be overkill. i.e I could have gone double GPU and an i9, but I figured nothing I play at 1080p would actually need it.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Frank.

FrankRD

Commendable
Nov 8, 2016

Sorry for the delayed response, I'm dealing with my cats.

Thanks for the suggestion! I wouldn't have even realized there was a new generation until months after I ordered the parts.

I changed up the build, how does it look now?

Your playing at 1080p? This system is a massive overkill for 1080p. Your bottleneck will be your monitor. I would highly recommend getting a 1440p or 4k monitor.

What are you using this system for? 32gb of RAM is way more than any game will require. You only need that much RAM and storage if you are video editing and have a lot of video data.

You also have almost 20tb of storage. That is server levels of storage. It is a lot for a first time system build. Do you have a need for that much storage? That would store more than 300 games if each game was 50gb. I don't think there are even 300 games that are 50gb or more. I would only get that much storage if you have an extensive video library. I have an 8tb storage on my home server and have over 1000 movies to give an example.

Also, you don't need a 1000 watt PSU for this build. The EVGA G3's have also had some issues. I would look for a 650 or 750watt EVGA G2 PSU.