Nighthawk D7000. Needing help please regarding accessing a connected usb hard drive through VPN

everway9

Honorable
Jul 17, 2012
Hi everyone :)

I have just purchased a Nighthawk D7000-100UKS Router. I'm new to using VPN's so please bear with me on this. I'm experimenting at home with the VPN setup. The router is connected to my home broadband and I'm trying to access the USB Hard Drive which is connected to the router. To access the hard drive I'm using my laptop (Win 10) which is connected to my mobile phone 4g network.

I took me ages to do it but I've managed to setup a remote VPN connection between my laptop and the router by following the instructions listed in the 'VPN' area of the routers settings. I've used no-ip to setup a Dynamic DNS account and have installed and configured (as per router instructions) open VPN on my laptop.

The open VPN GUI task bar icon has gone green so is connected (the NETGEAR-VPN TAP adapter is connected but says unidentified network).

This is where I am stuck. How do I now get access to the USB drive now I'm connected through the VPN? Should the hard drive show up anywhere in 'This PC' or 'Network'?

What I'd like to achieve is to be able to see all files on the usb drive and if possible be able to open, edit and save files as if it was files on a local hard drive. I don't really want to have to download a file just to edit it and then have to upload it again when I've finished. (is this even possible?)

If any of you could possibly help me finish what I've started I'd be really very grateful.

Many thanks in advance. :)

smashjohn

Reputable
Aug 14, 2017
I think you access via SMB protocol. Try going to the start/run menu and type "\\x.x.x.x" where x.x.x.x is your D7000's internal IP address.

If that works, you can map a network drive by right-clicking a share in the folder.

everway9

Honorable
Jul 17, 2012
Hiya. Thanks again for your posts.

Unfortunately run \\ip address did not work. I also tried with :21 on the end.