Nervous about buying a 1440p 144hz IPS monitor.

Onigokko

Reputable
Nov 10, 2015
So ive been in the market for a new monitor, and I really want an IPS vs TN because the picture quality is so nice, however ive heard horror stories about them. Ive been saving up for a few months for a new monitor, and I want it to be nice.

For example im very tempted to snap up this refurbished Acer one: https://acerrecertified.com/acer-predator-lcd-widescreen-monitor-27-display-wqhd-screen-ips-anti-glare/

However the fact that we have to pay for RMA makes me nervous, because I dont have a ton of money to throw around to get a good panel.

Any advice?

I'd say you should probably save a little longer. If you can't afford to RMA the monitor if it is defective, you should save until you can or a new one goes on sale. This is just a risky purchase for you because you can't afford to be wrong. Therefore the prudent/smart thing to do is wait.

Onigokko

Reputable
Nov 10, 2015

I can most likely afford an RMA or two but ive heard horror stories of multiple RMAs to get a good panel with the 144hz 1440 IPS monitors

Solution

Onigokko

Reputable
Nov 10, 2015
One review of the dell: Now some of you might be concerned already - a TN panel? Yep, that is exactly what I thought, but to be fair, this is no ordinary TN panel. Yes, IPS panels do have better colors out of the box but Dell has done something very special here - they have managed to give us the benefit of IPS like colors but in a TN panel.

But the real difference here is the Nvidia GSYNC and 144 hz refresh rate. I have a GTX 1080 GPU and a Core i7 6700k CPU and so in iRacing, I am able to average anywhere between 100 and 143 FPS at the triple screen resolution of 7680 X 1440, which means I get incredible visuals, that are running silky smooth.