New monitor LG 24MB56HQ too bright and tiring for my eyes. Calibration Help?

johnyskar

Prominent
Dec 12, 2017
Hello, 5 days ago i got a new monitor and made the transition from my 7-year Samsung Syncmaster 2243sn to a LG 24MB56HQ. I wanted something better but also budget so i chose this model. I decided that i would try an IPS and little bigger screen (from 21.5" to 23.8") intended for everyday use and Gaming included(initial reason of upgrading, i also switched gpu).

Now i know that it's a big difference switching from a 7 years old TN screen to a bigger, different Brand and technology and it needs getting used to.. But it really tires my eyes from day one. I first thought that it's because of the size but i realized it's the intense and vivid lighting and specifically the White colours.

The default setting was like a freakin Lightbulb for a dark room. Brightness was 100/100 and Contrast 90/100. I am no expert at this and monitor versions in general, so i read somewhere that for this model it's suggested to set the RGB to 50-43-45 but other than that... darkness. Everyday i am trying different settings with no good result. It still brings me headaches and makes my eyes hurt. Currently i have Brightness at 15 and Contrast at 70. I tried them both around 40-50 but it's too bright. On the other hand when low it makes the colours a little washed out and text blurrier. But aside from the afternoon that i have a lamp on, at night that the room is dark it's pretty tiring. I never had this problem with the previous monitor for all this time and in this circumstances.

So if anyone has feedback for this specific model or a similar IPS sized calibration, i would appreciate it while my eyes can still read it. Some more info:

-I also tried the Windows colour adjustment
-I tried 1920x1080 resolution(previously 1280x960 fit me), but it's too small and don't like the icons and text enlargment result, so i am trying 1600x900 and 1440x900.