I'm a novice building a $1100 gaming PC, and I need advice

Hello!

For Christmas, I'm bundling up all of the money that I can spare to buy myself parts for a shiny new gaming PC.
And while I do have some experience putting together computers. I'm definitely not the best at picking which parts to use.

to make a long story short, I need yall's opinions and advice on what I could do to make this build better without going over the $1100 price tag

you can find the parts list here

Thank you in advance!
12 answers Last reply
More about novice building 1100 gaming advice
  1. your link is bad.
  2. vapour said:
    your link is bad.

I think I fixed it? I think I cut the link in two while typing this
  3. 1. Those cables are already included in PSU, no need.

2. Old gen I5 is not recommended with coffee lake come out.

3. Do you need OS?
  4. Spending 60$ on sleeved cables and getting 3gb 1060 ...
    Also non-K CPU on Z board (and 6th gen on top of that).

My guess your priority is good looks over good FPS.
  5. vapour said:
    1. Those cables are already included in PSU, no need.

2. Old gen I5 is not recommended with coffee lake come out.

3. Do you need OS?

1. I'm adding the cable extensions so that the inside looks cleaner. But It could be removed
    2. how do I tell whether or not it is a next-gen or an old gen?
    3. I have a Hard drive that I plan on installing that has windows already installed
  6. DRagor said:
    Spending 60$ on sleeved cables and getting 3gb 1060 ...
    Also non-K CPU on Z board (and 6th gen on top of that).

My guess your priority is good looks over good FPS.

What would you recommend instead?
    EDIT: I think I fixed the motherboard issue? The graphics card is going to have to stay, I WISH I could drop another $200 for a 6gb, but I have a Hard Limit
  7. If you are getting 7th gen cpu, get 200 series board
  8. PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel - Core i5-8400 2.8GHz 6-Core Processor ($199.89 @ B&H)