Need Help With High End Non-Gaming Build

bmkays

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2008
I'm a software engineer that has not paid attention to hardware in a while. I used to build all my machines myself and also game a lot, but as my career has progressed my desire to sit in front of a computer when I get home has significantly decreased.

I need to build a high end PC that will not be used for gaming. I currently need to replace a PC I use for a plex server, crypto currency mining (the new small ones for fun) when it's not in use, and software development when I work from home.

I started researching on my own and everything I'm finding is geared more towards gaming and I want to make sure I'm not paying for stuff I don't need.

My main needs:
High end processor. No preference really, I've had I7s in my work computers but after researching I'm thinking the Rizen would suit better for my needs (feel free to correct me if I'm wrong). The software I use, plus plex transcoding, etc require high intensive CPU use.
Lots of memory. My machines are usually always maxed out with memory, however they are usually provided by my employers. I did read somewhere 16GB of high end RAM is better than 32GB of low end RAM - again, not sure how much water that holds.
Ability to have several large drives. I plan to get a NAS at some point, until then I keep all my video for my plex server on HDs I'll keep in this machine. I currently have several I can re-use for this build unless it makes sense and fits the budget to get new ones. I currently have a 512 SSD for my boot drive, and 2 older Seagate 4 GB sata drives, and one older Seagate 2 GB sata drive. I'm already running out of space so being able to expand now or in the near future would be needed. I also have smaller 256GB SSDs laying around everywhere.