Samsung SA350 monitor is flickering - Caps look fine. What else could it be?

Anagoge

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2011
I have a Samsung SyncMaster SA350 monitor. Had it for minimum six years. It's begun to flicker. It will flicker for around four hours if left on and then it'll be fine after that. It's almost like something is taking a long time to warm up.

At first I thought one of the capacitors had blown. I opened it up but the caps look fine. No signs of bulging or leaking. I'm at a loss as to what it could be.

Having replaced caps on a SyncMaster 226BW before with a similar issue, that's the only thing I can think of, but the caps really do look fine. If you have any advice, I'd appreciate it.

Solution
"How easy would it be to replace?"
As a computer tech and former DELL and HP warranty service provider we didn't fix monitors. They just get replaced.
Easy? umm... I would say it might be fairly hard to replace.

I did a search for parts and I'm only seeing the input board and the power adapter available.
Which makes fixing it nearly impossible.

If you wanted to have some fun you could get a completely different light source. Just make sure the light color temp is quite high or your whites will look redish. Some people use monitors that lack a light source to create a home made projector.

You can place the LCD panel slightly above (or maybe) on the overhead projector then the light passes through and it gets projected onto the wall...
"capacitors had blown"
You wouldn't have seen anything if that was the case.

"It's almost like something is taking a long time to warm up."
Yes, you are not wrong.

"I'm at a loss as to what it could be."