Questions about installing OS on new rig

morgandaniels59

Prominent
Nov 7, 2017
I'm a little bit stuck and intimidated by this subject, but how do I install a new WIN 10 64bit OS on a new rig with no optical drive? Is having a product key something I need to have before hand when I first turn on the new rig? I'm currently using WIN10 64 bit on my current rig. I have a new Asrock Z370 Extreme MOBO waiting to have the OS installed. Forgive me for I am new to the idea of installing OS.

Solution
no your USB is the installer. attach your ssd into your machine. then boot to usb so that installation will start. you will be prompted to select your ssd drive for install. after first reboot it will boot naturally to your ssd.
Get the mediacreation tool then download the ISO

If you've got a flash drive you can use rufus to put the install on it

Tool

Rufus

Since the mobo has a UEFI BIOS select GPT partition in Rufus before you add the ISO

Once you add the ISO wait for it to finish, eject it then put it in a USB port on this mobo.

Go into the BIOS. Change the bootdisk to the flash drive

Enable AHCI, secureboot and UEFI, in the BIOS first

Press a key when it says to. Install windows. Everytime it reboot dont press a key again. Let it continue until it gets into windows

marksavio

Estimable
Dec 23, 2017
its easy actually. just go to this site and get a usb drive (at least 8Gb). the tool will guide you pretty straight forward.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-in/software-download/windows10

when booting your computer to USB, just press F8 and select the usb. or f2/del, go to bootmenu. and select.

as for the digital license. make sure you do these first before you start/throw away your old hardware.

on your original PC, first link your license and machine to your account :
* press winkey+i. update & security. activation. add an account. sigin with your microsoft account.
* after all that is done you will see a message like "license linked to your account"